lluvia y fiebre

November 17, 2009

((rain and fever))

 

couldn’t sleep last night. caught a fever and had horrible chills. feeling much better today and Inés is taking care of me well. finally, finally it is raining. hopefully this means an end to the random blackouts the government has been intiating in light of the water shortage (no water to power the dam that powers the country.)

 

otherwise I’m doing much better. Inés and I have had some great talks by candlenight when there’s no electricity and teaching has gotten easier every day. my academic coordinator came to visit and is in complete agreement I should do something else for my three month span of internship time. getting excited for my break and the unplanned planned adventure to macchu picchu. excited to be here for three more weeks hanging out with Inés and Kairik and Mishari. got to visit the Otavalo market and buy textiles and earrings and presents. got to climb a mountain. what else do I hope to do before I leave…perhaps more chasing pigs through the dark (literally.) more work in the garden. more english examens!

 

hope I feel completely well by tomorrow.

 

trying to upload some new photos. internet is slow. they will come.

 

going back to bed.

3 Responses to “lluvia y fiebre”

  1. Ashley Says:

    Feel Betterrrrrrrrr!

  2. Mom Says:

    I picture you running after pigs – which have never looked slow on movies or T.V. Are they greased?
    Do you eat them? How different your life will be back here. I wonder if this will be your “home” after you have experienced more of the world? What will you run after here to capture that same spirt?
    Pooping geese? It is the season when the geese have landed to eat everything in sight in preparation for leaving. How in the hell do they know how to fly in formation??? What is instinct and what is learned in us?
    Back to work
    Love you forever,
    Mom
    Stop being sick, it makes me worry so much, I want to skip out of the country and be with you.

  3. Bethany Says:

    I’m so glad you’re doing better! Delhi is big and absurd, and the rickshaw drivers keep getting lost and food is expensive. The Taj Mahal is even absurd-er. A monument of love! built by thousands of slave laborers! for the wife that was only favored because she produced 14 (!) children! I envy your pig chasing–I bet you have your moments when you envy my Delhi though.

    You should write me a poem about chasing pigs through the dark, ok? I’ll write you one about rickshaws. I need an excuse to write.

    love youuuuuuuuuuu


Leave a comment