wawa’s

October 2, 2009

wawa is kiwcha, the most common indigenous language here and the one spoken by the incas, and it means child or baby. isn’t that deliciously descriptive?

went on a trip with my education class to visit two schools. it got me excited to be around children again…I really loved being Arts and Crafts leader at plymouth’s day camp last summer. the thing is wherever I end for my internship….on which I will give details as soon as I know them and have actually decided where I am going (pretty much know but want to hold off saying something)…..I will be teaching english

I HAVE NO IDEA HOW TO TEACH ENGLISH *panic panic panic*

Also I don’t know how credits are going to work out for me as I convinced my professors to give me credit for a class that turned out not to be offered (arts and cultural studies track, it’s why I’m in education now) and an internship that included theater aspects I have no idea will actually come to fruition and a research paper on local art forms I have no idea if I will have time to actually study. if my family needs help in the garden or tending the chickens or cows and the rest of the time I’m making up lesson plans because the students need to know english to get into high school, well, that’s what I’m going to do and fuck you university of minnesota.
I apologize, that was perhaps too much of a strongly worded statement. I still want to do all of the things I said above, but I am preparing myself to fail to do any of them and succeed in having an experience I can’t fortell.

Except for the fact I will be teaching English.

Literally the one thing I told everyone in the states I would NOT do.

oh well. one of the schools was practically begging for us to come and teach. in the face of such a need – not just an aspect of cultural and language imperialism, but a bona fide need in order to continue the educational process while at the same time they realize the aspects of cultural and language imperialism and fight to maintain their own culture…but they want their children to go past the 7th grade…and I know English and could probably teach it pretty decently and teach it through my artsy ideas, well, I can’t say no.

waaaugh. anyway, seeing kids play and attempt cartwheels and headstands and push each other down small hills and cry and scream and laugh has confirmed my belief that kids, in any country or culture, when they are young, are pretty much the same. although I definitely give props to the girls doing cartwheels in traditional indigenous dress, the long skirt would completely mess me up.

at the second school some of the kids performed some traditional folk dance, to andean flute tunes mixed with electric guitar solos played on a cd player….they got us up and we danced with them…I don’t know how I feel about it. it was the type of experience that I think can be done very superficially, where we come and pose and take photos with them and of them (except a couple other girls and me stepped out of the photos, and didn’t bring our cameras…)….I don’t know. human-tourism and the whites walk away feeling like they’ve done good. on the flip-side, they generally want to share their school with us and this was their way of welcome.

I am getting eaten up by some sort of bug that may or may not live in my bed…or the moment I step outside I’m getting bitten by something. why is my blood so deliciously sweeeeeeeeet

also my ear with the new piercings is a little red and throbby right now. trying not to worry about it. but perhaps worrying will send more white blood cells to the area! who knows?!

in order to get an ecuadorian prescription for my anti-anxiety meds I had to go see a psychologist and was evaluated in spanish. I was asked all sorts of normal questions, about my family history, appetite, sleeping habits, any suicidal or self-destructive thoughts, but also some new questions for me, such as, “Are your parents sane?”, “Are you using crack?”, “Are you looking for an Ecuadorian boyfriend?”, and my favorite, “Have you participated or thought about participating in any actions or protests against authority?” (Questionably, no, señor I don’t need a boyfriend to be happy, and no but hotdamn I would like to.) Generally in the States these questions are grouped under “Are you using any drugs?” and “Any changes in your normal behavior?” but I was treated to these questions, and many more, that specifically went into any conceivable instance of a deviation from normal behavior. it was entertaining and I think I said “no” more then I ever have before in a period of 15 minutes. ended getting my prescription without any further consequence so I don’t think I mistakenly said anything in Spanish that made me look insane.

and as my parents are half or more my reading audience I would like to apologize for implying you are not both 100% completely sane in eveeeeeeery way possible, riiiiight?

(you may be offended from a distance)

time for bed or rather soaking my ear in salt-water and thinking about the mountains for a while, trying to ignore my distend stomach full of nescafe and delicious delicious lachipungas

love, anita

One Response to “wawa’s”

  1. Mom Says:

    Such language!…tsk tsk tsk
    Ok, my sweet wawa, start seeing something positive about sharing a universal language – I know it may homgenize us BUT….. we can also share more. It seems that Spanish and English have overtaken the French and Latin used in previous eras. You are doing things right and I’m sure the U will work it out with you.
    Love you much,
    Mom


Leave a comment